rhubarb

Delicious food and welcoming service in a cozy seaside setting

Reviews Print this page

  • A Great Find

    August 29, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    This was a really great find.The restaurant was very welcoming from the outside and we were not disappointed when we went inside.The owner and staff were very welcoming and the food wine and service was excellent.Nothing was too much trouble and it was really good value for the money.We are only passing and so it is a shame it is not in the UK as we would certainly return and will if we are ever in Nova Scotia again. Thank you for a lovely experience it was perfect in every way

  • Great First Impression

    May 26, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    A short drive from the city of Halifax and of course on the ever popular Peggys Cove route,this seemed like a good option for a Sunday brunch.
    Opted for the eggs bacon benny served on toasted biscuits with side salad and roast potatoes. It was excellent, priced right and those biscuits were sooo good. Bacon done perfectly ,not chewy and the eggs just needed a little more hollandaise,which I will remember to ask for next time.
    Quick pleasant service, with a stunning view of the Atlantic ocean waves just in the distance made it a great place on a sunny day. They also have a small bakery downstairs which sells the biscuits ,so yes I had to buy some to take home.
    This would make an excellent place for a small overnight group fuction as the setting is next to Oceanstone Resort.
    Dinner menu more expansive then the brunch so might have to try that too. They also make pizza. During the summer we were told it is possible they may bring in musical entertainment. A good size outdoor patio can also accommodate extra seating and did I mention the view .
    I would recommend reservations as it could get busy with the resort next door. We hope to be back soon

  • So Yummy!

    May 5, 2013

    Customer email

    I have to say this restaurant is so wonderful!! Food is amazing service is
    fabulous and the atmosphere great! Best tea biscuits I have ever had. I don't
    normally eat bread but they looked so yummy I had to try them and they were even
    better than I expected. The fish was perfect and I am a very picky person about
    fish and freshness. Presentation was excellent too.
    Thanks for a wonderful
    experience. Will definitely be back. Yum!!

  • Beautiful view, good food.

    May 5, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    We ate here last night and had a very pleasant meal with great service and a spectacular view of St. Margaret's Bay. Our waitress was attentive and pleasant.
    The menu was somewhat limited, but it was still the winter menu. I had the portabello burger, which was very tasty. My daughter in law had the haddock, which was a generous portion and delicious. my son had the Saturday night burger, which he enjoyed very much. They had been here before and enjoyed their meal,so they they brought me.
    I would love to come again when I am back this way

  • Treat your taste buds

    December 27, 2012

    The Chronicle Herald

    A YEAR AGO, I was pretty sure the diagnosis of diabetes was going to mean an end to this column.
    But by getting off the rum and Dr Pepper and getting back in the gym, I was able to drop 30 pounds while still enjoying the occasional piece of cheesecake. Turns out that, as I’ve been telling my wife for years, I’m a superior physical specimen.

    In some ways, this was one of the best years of reviewing restaurants, yet, and it’s now time for the annual Stick a Fork in It awards.

    Remember, these awards are presented to restaurants we reviewed this year.

    Bill Spurr is a features writer at The Chronicle Herald.

    Full Article »

  • Rhubarb’s reno serves up tasty twists on casual dining

    November 7, 2012

    The Chronicle Herald: Arts & Life, by Bill Spurr Bourgeois Gourmet

    The Rhubarb Restaurant, part of the wedding haven Oceanstone Resort, about 40 minutes from downtown Halifax, reopened last week after renovations to make the feel here less fine dining and more casual.

    Full Article »

  • WOW!

    November 22, 2012

    Yelp

      Rhubarb has been a staple of this area for a long time, and the previous owners didn't know what they were doing......

     I have to say, whoever took it over is doing just the right thing! So affordable and the food is AMAZING!!!!!!

    My wife and I went, and had the pizza lunch special then shared dessert. We were so pleased and will be back again! Where did you find your service staff? They are so nice, and care about the area so much. .. Really great to see a staff that really cares about what they are doing!  Can't wait to do brunch!

  • Blown Away!

    November 22, 2012

    urbanspoon

    My husband loves to go out to restaurants and we just loved Rhubarb this Sunday! The brunch was sooooooo good! The service was excellent and the place has really changed, so beautiful. We came here a few months ango and were really disappointed. We heard new owners had taken it over, and my oh my has it stepped up notch. So affordable and simply great food! Couldn't ask for better in our great community!
     
    W&M

8650 Peggy's Cove Road
Indian Harbour, NS B3Z 3P4 902-821-3013

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Urbanspoon

Call for Reservation
Walk-Ins Welcome
Kid-Friendly
Outdoor Seating

Join us for Festive December! Check our our events!

Monday: Closed

Tuesday, Wednesday: 11am4pm

ThursdaySaturday: 11am9pm

Sunday: 10am8pm

  • VISA
  • MasterCard