rhubarb

Delicious food and welcoming service in a cozy seaside setting

Reviews Print this page

  • Rhubarb Restaurant

    February 8, 2014

    Trip Advisor

    Had a wonderful dinner at this oceanfront restaurant. The sunset was stunning, the food delicious and prices reasonable

  • It Open and it was Great

    December 31, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    We were surprised to find Rhubarb open, especially at lunch. It had been recommended to us 5 years ago, but it never seemed to be open when we visited. New owners are in place now, and it is wonderful to have an attractive, quality place for lunch or dinner near Peggy's Cove. The food was excellent (wonderful soup and individual pizza), and the service was friendly and professional. Everyone enjoyed their lunch.

  • A Lovely Spur of the Momenet Lunch

    November 12, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    My husband and I live in the area and had heard about Rhubarb, so when we had a chance to have an afternoon "date" while the grandparents looked after our daughter, we decided to stop in. A very worthwhile splurge. The view from the dining room is beautiful, overlooking St Margaret's Bay. They have a nice selection of local beverages (wine and beer), and the food is very tasty. Their donair pizza and seafood chowder hit the spot, and their fish cakes and salad were very delicious. We didn't have time for dessert, but will try the rhubarb crisp next visit if they have it.

    We're excited to hear there will be special events happening throughout the winter, including live music in the evening and during Sunday brunch.

    Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Fantastic

    September 30, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    I had lunch at Rhubarb on Thursday, September 26th and what a lovely experience it was. Although I had a simple lobster roll with a side cup of chowder, the meal was perfect. My favourite part was the buttermilk biscuit. I tried making them at home last night, but they weren't the same delicious, dense but flaky, slightly sweet biscuits that are served at Rhubarb. What really impressed me however was the service. It was impeccable. Attentive and friendly. I must also mention the view. I was seated on the balcony overlooking the grounds and could have spent all day there if I didn't have to meet my husband back in Halifax. I highly recommend this place. Next time I would love to try it for dinner. I'm certain it would be equally wonderful. Lovely, friendly staff, great food, beautiful scenery/atmosphere, what more do you need. Thank you Rhubarb.

  • The name Gets You

    September 30, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    We ate here more than once as the staff was wonderful, they took the time to see that you were looked after, we also ordered take out meals and they were every bit as good as eating there. Excellent menu, everything was delicious.

  • A Great Find

    August 29, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    This was a really great find.The restaurant was very welcoming from the outside and we were not disappointed when we went inside.The owner and staff were very welcoming and the food wine and service was excellent.Nothing was too much trouble and it was really good value for the money.We are only passing and so it is a shame it is not in the UK as we would certainly return and will if we are ever in Nova Scotia again. Thank you for a lovely experience it was perfect in every way

  • Great First Impression

    May 26, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    A short drive from the city of Halifax and of course on the ever popular Peggys Cove route,this seemed like a good option for a Sunday brunch.
    Opted for the eggs bacon benny served on toasted biscuits with side salad and roast potatoes. It was excellent, priced right and those biscuits were sooo good. Bacon done perfectly ,not chewy and the eggs just needed a little more hollandaise,which I will remember to ask for next time.
    Quick pleasant service, with a stunning view of the Atlantic ocean waves just in the distance made it a great place on a sunny day. They also have a small bakery downstairs which sells the biscuits ,so yes I had to buy some to take home.
    This would make an excellent place for a small overnight group fuction as the setting is next to Oceanstone Resort.
    Dinner menu more expansive then the brunch so might have to try that too. They also make pizza. During the summer we were told it is possible they may bring in musical entertainment. A good size outdoor patio can also accommodate extra seating and did I mention the view .
    I would recommend reservations as it could get busy with the resort next door. We hope to be back soon

  • So Yummy!

    May 5, 2013

    Customer email

    I have to say this restaurant is so wonderful!! Food is amazing service is
    fabulous and the atmosphere great! Best tea biscuits I have ever had. I don't
    normally eat bread but they looked so yummy I had to try them and they were even
    better than I expected. The fish was perfect and I am a very picky person about
    fish and freshness. Presentation was excellent too.
    Thanks for a wonderful
    experience. Will definitely be back. Yum!!

  • Beautiful view, good food.

    May 5, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    We ate here last night and had a very pleasant meal with great service and a spectacular view of St. Margaret's Bay. Our waitress was attentive and pleasant.
    The menu was somewhat limited, but it was still the winter menu. I had the portabello burger, which was very tasty. My daughter in law had the haddock, which was a generous portion and delicious. my son had the Saturday night burger, which he enjoyed very much. They had been here before and enjoyed their meal,so they they brought me.
    I would love to come again when I am back this way

  • Perfect Start to a Week at Oceanstone

    May 5, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    A small group of us arrived early for our conference at Oceanstone resport so had dinner together the night before our meetings started.
    Staff at Rhubarb were warm and friendly and informative.
    I had the vegige Rice Wraps for starters and thought they were excellent. Can't recall my main so not sure if that is an indicator or not. Eveyone seemed to enjoy their meals.
    The dessert, Rhubarb Crisp was great too.
    Having local craft beer was a highlight and the Hell Bay English Ale was fantastic.
    It was such a perfect location, with great food and service.
    If you are in this part of the world I would thoroughly recommend dining here.

  • “At last - somewhere great to eat near Peggy's Cove”

    April 28, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    Overheard some people talking about this restaurant whilst we were at Peggy's Cove so decided to call in and see for ourselves if it was as good as they said. We were not disappointed. Greeted with a warm welcome from the waitress, seated at a great table with wonderful views of the water. Menu is a little limited but the food is fresh, and very tasty. This will certainly be our first choice in future when in the area.

  • Excellent Food

    April 9, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    Ate here twice during my stay at Oceanstone, and both meals were exceptional. Will definately be back.

  • Worth the Trip Back!

    March 25, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    My husband and I had a weekend away at Oceanstone Inn. We had the opportunity to dine at Rhubarb Restaurant. The food was amazing! Prepared by a chef that want the food to taste and look beautiful. Our first evening was lovely the wine was wonderful and we enjoyed the food and our waitress Maggie was a delight. Our second evening I ordered their pork tenderloin....I cannot wait to have it again! The presentation of the meal was a piece of art! My husband had the Chicken Pot Pie, he loved it! The owners are very friendly, and were quick to ask how our day was. A truly Nova Scotian experience, the food the wine, and the staff are all wonderful!

  • Fantastic Dining and Atmosphere

    January 21, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    This little restaurant is an amazing find and lucky to be so close to Oceanstone (where we were staying). We loved our meal (we had got engaged that morning) and were so pleased when we had our drinks paid for by a couple dining nearby who heard the news! Outstanding food and staff and decor and atmosphere!

  • Wonderful Brunch

    January 21, 2013

    Facebook

    Had a wonderful brunch at The Rhubarb in Indian Harbour yesterday. Delicious food served piping hot and such lovely welcoming hosts, Diane Buckle and her husband Jim. Excellent value, beautiful setting. Add brunch or dinner at the Rhubarb to your winter to-do list! Support local businesses

  • 2 Wonderful Meals at Rhubarb

    January 13, 2013

    Trip Advisor

    We had a dinner at the Rhubarb and it was wonderful. I had the Saturday night burger and it was sooo tasty. My husband had the fish and raved about it.
    The next dat we went back for Sunday brunch. My husband had the Lobster Eggs Benny and said it was perfectly cooked. I had the pancakes with maple butter and the maple bacon. Couldn't have been better!
    Service was attentive and professional by the owners. The decor is warm and filled with nova Scotia folk art. There was a duo playing music for brunch and created a lovely atmosphere. We will be back!

  • Treat your taste buds

    December 27, 2012

    The Chronicle Herald

    A YEAR AGO, I was pretty sure the diagnosis of diabetes was going to mean an end to this column.
    But by getting off the rum and Dr Pepper and getting back in the gym, I was able to drop 30 pounds while still enjoying the occasional piece of cheesecake. Turns out that, as I’ve been telling my wife for years, I’m a superior physical specimen.

    In some ways, this was one of the best years of reviewing restaurants, yet, and it’s now time for the annual Stick a Fork in It awards.

    Remember, these awards are presented to restaurants we reviewed this year.

    Bill Spurr is a features writer at The Chronicle Herald.

    Full Article »

  • Yelp Review

    December 12, 2012

    Yelp

    Diane and Jim are fantastic proprietors, competent and friendly. Genuinely happy that you're there.

    The restaurant is very nicely put together on the inside and the back patio has a fantastic view of St. Margarets Bay.

    The menu at this time is fairly limited and focused on health conscious versions of  mainstay dishes. Everything I've had was pretty delicious, though sometimes when I go out for dinner, I prefer to treat myself to some calories.

    No reservations on going back, great place just getting its legs under it. Expect big things from Rhubarb.

  • Rhubarb’s reno serves up tasty twists on casual dining

    November 7, 2012

    The Chronicle Herald: Arts & Life, by Bill Spurr Bourgeois Gourmet

    The Rhubarb Restaurant, part of the wedding haven Oceanstone Resort, about 40 minutes from downtown Halifax, reopened last week after renovations to make the feel here less fine dining and more casual.

    Full Article »

  • WOW!

    November 22, 2012

    Yelp

      Rhubarb has been a staple of this area for a long time, and the previous owners didn't know what they were doing......

     I have to say, whoever took it over is doing just the right thing! So affordable and the food is AMAZING!!!!!!

    My wife and I went, and had the pizza lunch special then shared dessert. We were so pleased and will be back again! Where did you find your service staff? They are so nice, and care about the area so much. .. Really great to see a staff that really cares about what they are doing!  Can't wait to do brunch!

  • Blown Away!

    November 22, 2012

    urbanspoon

    My husband loves to go out to restaurants and we just loved Rhubarb this Sunday! The brunch was sooooooo good! The service was excellent and the place has really changed, so beautiful. We came here a few months ango and were really disappointed. We heard new owners had taken it over, and my oh my has it stepped up notch. So affordable and simply great food! Couldn't ask for better in our great community!
     
    W&M

  • Click for Reviews on Yelp

    November 11, 2012

    Yelp

    My husband and I visited Rhubarb last Saturday for lunch.

    The restaurant is so bright and cozy with an outstanding view. Lovely fireplace and fantastic local art work .

    We each had a different soup served with fresh warm buttermilk biscuits. The soups were so favorful and both vegetarian as well. I have ordered humus and pita many times but have never had it with fried bread as we did a Rhubarb, so good. We also had great tasty rice wraps and took home the lobster rolls for a later snack.

    The service was excellent and food delicious, can't wait to go back.

8650 Peggy's Cove Road
Indian Harbour, NS B3Z 3P4 902-821-3013

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Urbanspoon

Call for Reservation
Walk-Ins Welcome
Kid-Friendly
Outdoor Seating

New Years Tickets on Sale Now!

MondayFriday: 11am9pm

Saturday: 10am9pm

Sunday: 10am8pm

  • VISA
  • MasterCard